A Tribute to Warren Zevon

 

This is a new blog about international affairs and national security issues.  I was trying to come up with a title for it when I realized that today marks the fourth anniversary of Warren Zevon’s death from lung cancer.  Zevon was one of the greatest songwriters who ever lived and also one of the most underappreciated artists in the history of rock & roll.  The name of this blog is a play on the title of his song “Lawyers, Guns and Money,” the lyrics of which are below.

 

Lawyers, Guns and Money

By Warren Zevon

 

I went home with the waitress

The way I always do

How was I to know

She was with the Russians too?

 

I was gambling in Havana

I took a little risk

Send lawyers, guns and money

Dad, get me out of this!

 

I’m an innocent bystander

But somehow I got stuck

Between a rock and a hard place

And I’m down on my luck

Yes I’m down on my luck

Well I’m down on my luck

 

I’m hiding in Honduras

I’m a desperate man

Send lawyers, guns and money

The shit has hit the fan!

 

Send lawyers, guns and money

Send lawyers, guns and money

Send lawyers, guns and money

Send lawyers, guns and money

 

The title Bloggers, Guns and Money is apt because it encompasses the three primary sources of influence in the international arena – Wealth, Military Power and Ideas.  The world changes over time, but these three threads run throughout history and shape the modern era.

 

I hope you enjoy reading this blog as much as I enjoy writing it, and I welcome readers’ comments.

 

Leave a Reply

